Shut Up

No one has ever accused me of biting my tongue.  No one has ever said to me, You should really speak your mind.  I don’t think I’ve ever heard, Spit it out Lesa.  My mouth is my greatest asset and also my biggest foe.

As a writerBlahlarge of picture books, selecting just the right words is crucial to telling a strong yet concise story.  The picture book writer can have  many jobs—create a narrative, teach a lesson, share a piece of history, connect the past to the present, make a reader laugh, highlight illustrations, share the power and beauty of language.  All this in 32 pages.  So the temptation to write more often persists.

In debates with friends, I need to offer just one more thought.  With my husband, I need to argue just one more point.  With my kids, I need to share just one more piece of profound knowledge from my unlimited cache of wisdom.   But it is only after I add that extra line to the text message, say the one more thing, do I immediately wish I could pull it back.  The key to successful relationships?  Shut up.   It doesn’t result in winning the debate.  No one is the better for it. There are no great epiphanies.    My family and friends have proven to be my best editors, only they don’t need a pen because their  deep sighs, unanswered texts and eye rolls cut deeper than any proofreading marks.  They remind me that, if I can’t always edit my thoughts, I can certainly edit my words.

In writing, not every word should make it onto the page.  Some material is beautifully crafted yet not a good fit, some,  the seeds of other stories, some don’t  help to propel the story along, some useless trivia.  Saying less can make each word that much more meaningful. So I try to shut up, and write only what must be written.  It has taken a long time to learn that the absence of words is often the most powerful tool a writer has.

And even though I feel the need to add just a little more here…I won’t.  I promise.  That’s it.  No more. Right after I say,  The End.

Lesa Cline-Ransome

About Lesa Cline-Ransome

Children's book writer, reader, mother of 4, partner to one, dog lover, nester, walker, runner, truthful optimist, answer seeker, listener, negotiator, Boston girl, music maker, party starter, party ender, political, foodie, explorer, winter lover, fast talker, fighter, woman's woman
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Shut Up

  1. christian says:

    The question is do we argue/discuss to make a point, to be heard or just to take the opposite side of the argument just to argue… but this is another point
    Love your posts Lisa, and again Happy 50s (mine was 54 so don’t feel too bad)
    Ciao

  2. Excellent advice. (I bite my tongue often, lest I be charged with attempted homicide. When my editor flags a word or several, I consider her comments–after several eye-rolls–and usually wind up hitting the delete key. As you so deftly point out, less is more. I once won an argument with a teaching colleague by saying simply–after listening to him harangue us for a good 20 minutes–“I disagree.” Later he came to me and said, “You were right.”)

  3. Reblogged this on WORDS…With a Dash of SABOR and commented:
    Lesa Cline-Ransome offers sage advice about choosing the right word and the philosophy of less is more.

  4. Phyllis Robinson says:

    Does this have anything to do with me always commenting on your fashion?

  5. Yeah it does. Now shut up! xo

  6. Pingback: Lesa Cline-Ransome’s Writerhood : Shut Up | Rhinebeck Community Forum

  7. Pizzos3.com says:

    Enjoyed this! It does take time to learn this skill. The irony is that time developes silence. Ever tried to recall an argument. (Sound the crickets). I’ve learned to let my words sit alone for awhile. The space of time helps you push delete on unnecessary words.

Leave a Reply

